Frequently Asked Questions

Whether visitor or member, you may have questions about the Cathedral of All Souls. If you don't find the answer here, please contact us.

What is the significance of All Souls being a Cathedral?

Cathedrals are places that can convey a sense of the sacred regardless of one’s background or traditions. Their locations, architecture and environment are designed to speak of the welcome of all people into its life, whether one is simply passing through or present at worship for decades. It is a house of the people, of All Souls. In Christian tradition Cathedrals have also been the home church of the local region of churches, places of education, as well as places for the encouragement of the arts both through instruction and through offerings of the arts. In all of this it seeks to serve as a connector of human beings with the Sacred.  Throughout its life, All Souls has sought to be a place of, with and for the wider community. It has sought to inspire human souls of ‘all sorts and conditions’ through its worship, its offerings and it commitment to the overall life of this region.

Has All Souls always been a Cathedral?

No, All Souls did not become the Catheral for the Diocese of Western North Carolina until January 1, 1995.

I am not an Episcopalian. May I share in the Eucharist?

All are welcome to share in the celebration of Eucharist, regardless of one’s faith tradition or of where they may be in their faith journey.  This reflects our understanding that it is indeed the Lord’s table to which we come, and all are welcomed by our Lord.

Where may I park when I visit All Souls?

All Souls does not have its own parking lot.  Street parking is available on Swan Street, Angle Street, All Souls Crescent, Boston Way, Kitchen Place, Biltmore Plaza, and Sweeten Creek Rd (Alt 25).  Additionally, the parking lots of Wachovia Bank on Swan Street, the State Employees Credit Union on All Souls Crescent, and Bank of America on All Souls Crescent are available to visitors. 

PLEASE NOTE: Please do not park in any of the Wachovia drive-through lanes on Sunday.


What is a sacrament?

Sacraments are often called “outward and visible signs of an inward and spiritual grace.”  The two principal sacraments for Episcopalians are Baptism and the Eucharist (Holy Communion).  The other five sacraments in which we share are Confirmation (the mature affirmation of one’s faith), Ordination to Holy Orders, Marriage, Reconciliation, and Anointing of the Sick.

What is the Eucharist?

It is a reenactment of the Last Supper that Jesus shared with his disciples before his death on the cross.  It is the means by which we share in the mystery and hope of his death and resurrection.  The Eucharist is the focal point of liturgy, and indeed, of life at All Souls.  It is the Eucharistic table that brings us together physically and makes us one in spirit.

Where can I learn more about the Episcopal Church?

The Episcopal Church has more than 2.4 million members in 7,679 congregations in 110 dioceses (and one similar geographic convocation) situated in 15 countries plus the United States. To read more fast facts click: EpiscopalLife Online.

Or click to visit the offical homepage of the Episcopal Church in the United States of America.

What denomination is All Souls?

All Souls is an Episcopal church.  Our denomination is rooted in the Church of England, transformed and adapted to American needs.  The Episcopal church is a blend of Catholic sacraments and priesthood, Protestant emphasis on the scriptures and the individual, and humanistic respect for individual experience and reason.  That blend has kept the church together during contentious times, and appeals to the diverse group of seekers that we attract.